This is what the LORD says — he who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters, who drew out the chariots and horses, the army and reinforcements together, and they lay there, never to rise again, extinguished, snuffed out like a wick: “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness…”

Isaiah 43:16-19

 OK. So that is kinda a long scripture. But it really speaks to this new phase of life I am currently living. Trusting God. New beginnings. Looking ahead. Yet learning from the past.

Throughout my entire life I have always wanted to make our house our home. A safe place to rest. A place to be YOU. To be loved. To be accepted. To see where you’ve come from. And learn where you’re going. Family. Support. A sanctuary.

Since moving to Loxley, Alabama a year and a half ago, I have been working on making this house our home. The best part of this process is searching for the perfect pieces that make the place come alive, and sometimes that includes remaking, refreshing, and reusing the things I have or the things I find.

My previous blogs display some of the ways I have done exactly this in our home. From tearing down walls, to laying tile, and even more that I will share later.

And now I am moving on to bringing HOME to your house! I am creating a kitchen line of products that include decorative flour sack towels, quilted hot pads, and burn engraved wooden spoons; a baby line of products that include baby rag quilts, rag bibs, burp pads, and lovey toys, and a home decoration line of products that include wooden encouragement arrows and wooden stars. Each item is made by hand. Creative. And one-of-kind.

Welcome to Going Gentry!

instagram @goinggentry

Leave a comment