“Begin the music…”

Psalm 81:2

I was 10 years old and I wanted a piano. All I wanted was a piano. This was ONE time I remember truly BEGGING Daddy for something. But, No. The answer was always No.

And then one Christmas a large item appeared in the dining room, covered with a packing quilt. Mom had always wanted a china hutch. This large item must be her hutch I thought. I never even peeked under that quilt, I was so downtrodden. Christmas morning came around and the item was still covered. Everyone wanted me to look under it, to uncover it. I refused. Why should I uncover Mom’s gift? What about MY gift? My piano?

But Daddy had a plan. And it was for my good. I did look under that quilt. And…

I was given my piano. I was given piano lessons. And I worked hard. I loved working hard. I would rise and shine playing the piano. I would end every day playing the piano. I loved playing piano. I competed. I earned awards. I was totally committed. Until I wasn’t. Cheerleading, band, grades, job… something had to give and it was piano. It still saddens me that I made that choice.

My piano has traveled with me through my adult life. It has been a part of me for so many years. Even though I never played, it has been with me. Many houses. Many rooms. I even built a new room around it. Only to realize later I couldn’t get it out of that room! Doors, hallway, stuck. No way out.

It was a very sad and very difficult decision. I couldn’t stand the thought of leaving it behind when we moved. But what could I do? Cut it in half? Bring pieces of it? Wow. No way.

Well. Yes way. That is exactly what I did. I can’t believe it. It was painful. And extremely hard to watch. But we cut it into smaller pieces and brought it with us. We remade it into something new. Something I see every morning. And it makes me happy, but in a different way. 🙂

Every now and then when I think our harebrained ideas are making me crazy I realize it’s not at all about going crazy, it’s about Going Gentry!

2 thoughts on “Playing Piano

Leave a comment