“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ…”
1 Peter 1:3

Happy New Year!

We have had a wonderful holiday season: seeing family, seeing old friends and new friends. It has been good. We feel very blessed.  And rested. We took time off from all the renovations! 🙂

Here are the updates since I last posted:

The sheet rock has FINALLY been completed and the walls and ceilings are painted. I have to say, again, sheet rock is messy but I think I have mopped up the last of the dust. Hurray!

We chiseled up 30 year old vinyl tiles and tore out the old island and vent hood in the kitchen.

Then hand-stripped the adhesive off the concert floor with the help of Nacho. He looks innocent, doesn’t he? Ha!

Race reclaimed wood from various places to build the new kitchen island. He framed up the island and  I cut, nailed, and stained each piece of reclaimed wood surrounding the island. Do you see the large corbels? We found 37 of those on Craig’s List for $80. A great find and a good story.

Then counter tops were added and the kitchen walls painted – just in time for Thanksgiving! I have the backsplash picked out just haven’t ordered it yet, but it will be beautiful. I can’t wait to install it.

And in the middle of these home reno projects I found time to redo an old china hutch. I chose the green to match my mothers’ bamboo china.

Alana also hosted her 7th Annual Gingerbread House Party! Some of these young ladies have built gingerbread houses together since 7th grade. Now they are freshmen/sophomores in college!

12493737_1001150466597297_3833848185588287683_o

Next up? Ordering the backsplash for the kitchen, painting the kitchen cabinets, ordering the bamboo for the flooring throughout the house. I’m also looking for some old cabinets for the art/craft studio and the laundry room. I think I will use corrugated tin for the ceiling in the laundry room. 🙂

I do know that having family and friends here over the holiday has been a great joy. I’m excited about hosting many more groups of friends and family in this house over the years! With friends and family with us, we aren’t going crazy, we’re Going Gentry!

 

Leave a comment