“As for God, His way is perfect: The Lord’s word is flawless; He shields all who take refuge in Him.” 2 Samuel 22:31

Race and I have now raised four children into adulthood. This has been an amazing and wonderful thing to experience. I LOVE being a mother. I LOVE having babies around. I LOVE having children around. I LOVE having teenagers around! I LOVE every part of motherhood.

While many parts were easy – snuggles, picnics, playing; some parts were hard – sickness, broken hearts, rejection. I learned very quickly that my way couldn’t FIX their problems. Physically, emotionally, academically, spiritually… many of these issues needed to be worked out, but I didn’t need to insert myself into the middle. I’m not saying I stayed out of everything! 🙂 I did mediate and offer a bit of advice now and then, hug and cry with them, and direct them to where help might be. And I prayed His perfect way, not my way.

Letting my children grow up, make mistakes, learn from their mistakes, and move on was important. Someone can drive me somewhere but until I get behind the wheel and drive myself I really don’t know how to get there. I have to go through the experience myself. Years ago we had a little book called, “I can do it myself!” This was a cute little book that encouraged children to make their bed, “I can do it myself!”, to button their shirt, “I can do it myself!” Independence. Self-esteem. Maturity. These things are essential.

I let my children go. I said all the things I know to say, multiple times. They listened patiently. Between the four of them, they have: spent nine weeks on a mission trip in Peru, month-long internship in Chili, month-long internship on the Amazon River, six months in Wisconsin attending school, week-long mission trip to London, numerous mission trips to Honduras, moved to Texas, moved to Nashville, two have married, and the list goes on. But only after seeking God, leaning on God, chasing after God, and daily placing my children in HIS hands… can I sleep at night. God is sovereign. God has a plan for my children, no matter how much planning I do (and hey, I love a good plan!), His plan is ultimately better! 🙂

I made mistakes. My kids made mistakes. We worked through the consequences. We learned. I am proud of my sweet children. I am proud of the choices they are making. God is blessing them. Did I get in the middle? Of course. Did I sometimes cause more problems? Sure. But time after time God got us through them. Thank goodness! Family is one of our greatest assets. I love them all. I just pray that God will get me out-of-the-way, so HE can be the one getting their attention.

Moving On…

Alana (our baby) is now starting college. We moved her to Auburn University last week and we had a great day! We started with this:

IMG_0099

And ended with this:

IMG_1886 (1)

IMG_0114

We will miss this girl every day, but there is a great thing called FACE TIME! Yea technology! It was a sweet day spent making precious memories. And Alana is ready. Me, not so much, but I’m staying out of her way. 🙂

It will take some time to figure out this empty nest thing (Hey! We have had a child at home for almost 30 years!) but with Race by my side we’ll make it happen in a grand and glorious way! So instead of going crazy, we’re Going Gentry!

Leave a comment