“There is a time for everything, and everything on earth has its special season…There is a time to plant and a time to pull up plants.” Ecclesiastes 3:1-2

I’m sorry but I tend to kill plants. On the other hand, Race can poke a stick into the ground and grow a tree. We are total opposites where this is concerned. 🙂

We are now landscaping our new yard. And if by landscaping you mean: planting bushes and creating a flower bed, then, yes, we are landscaping. Race’s new stress release is stopping on his way home from work at Lowe’s, Home Depot, or varieties of nurseries and purchasing plants. Within the past few weeks he has come home with gardenia bushes, crepe myrtles, holly bushes, lantana plants, a forsythia bush, jasmine vines, and some kind evergreen bush. And maybe more…oh, yes, a kumquat tree!

IMG_0153IMG_0252IMG_0236

Everything has found a home. Hopefully everything will grow and at least stay green! I will be surprised if they flower. 🙂 A little love, a little water/food, a little patience… maybe I’ll succeed. Race has always told me I just needed to treat plants like my children. I always thought, four kids are enough to think about, why should I fill my mind with plants? Well my children are now grown and away from home, maybe I do have some extra “thought space” to fill, maybe I can tend to the flowers.

There is a time for everything. God has pulled me out of my own comfortable bed and planted me somewhere new. Somewhere that might be a little challenging? Somewhere a little uncomfortable? A place I can flower and grow? Maybe now is the time to have flowering beds instead of a bed of weeds. Lord, use me, change me, water me, grow me.

I keep telling myself I am not going crazy (yet), I am Going Gentry!

Leave a comment