“We ought always to thank God for you, brothers, and rightly so, because your faith is growing more and more, the love every one of you has for each other is increasing.”
2 Thessalonians 1:3

Summertime is a great time to get the family together. Adult children, jobs, various schedules, long distances… that all adds up to visits very far apart.

But THIS WEEK we have Jordan and Lauren visiting!! They both are veterinarians and work odd schedules, but this week their off days aligned and they are coming home to visit! Yea!

With Jordan and Lauren coming to visit Alana before she moves to college next week, it has brought back many memories of moving children to college.

I remember when Jordan left for Auburn. Move in day came and it was an awesome family experience. I celebrated the “decorating of the dorm” with his roommates’ mom. The dads ran to Walmart for all the techie cables and devices. The siblings joined in on all fronts. It was a great day. I left sad but very comforted in knowing he had a great roommate and, need I say, a great room!

By the time Scott left for Auburn, we had moved Jordan into a trailer off campus. So Scott’s move in day was a little different. We spent a large part of the day CLEANING the trailer from Jordan and his random roommate. We set Scott up in the spare bedroom and I left knowing he had Brother to watch over him. 😉

Katelyn’s move in day was very emotional. (I’ll just tell you: Girls Are Different.) We moved her to Mississippi State. A little different… 🙂 We (this time the WE didn’t include Jordan) moved Katelyn into her perfected decorated dorm room with her sweet roommate.

At this time Alana was starting 8th grade and EVERYONE in middle school had a cell phone EXCEPT her! She had begged all summer for one, and I continuously said No. But one day I heard her complaining to Katelyn about it and Katelyn, in all her wisdom, told her that the only reason I would get her a phone would be so they could text and call each other when she left for college. I immediately went and purchased Alana a phone. The thought that they needed that connection brought me to tears.

The week before, Katelyn had updated her phone. So I purchased the same phone for Alana.

The room was decorated. Katelyn was unpacked and ready for college. Then Katelyn gave Alana the gift. As Alana began unwrapping the gift, she saw it was in “Katelyn’s” phone box and she GOT MAD. As if we were playing a BAD trick on her! We had to keep encouraging her to continue opening the gift. Reality of what the gift actually was dawned on her and her eyes teared up, she looked at Katelyn, Katelyn was crying, they hugged. I cried, Daddy cried. I look across the room at Scott and HE was wiping tears. We are all standing there hugging and crying with Alana. The friends in the room were looking at the Gentrys like we were crazy! It was a very sweet moment.

The impact of that phone was huge. Yes, it was just a phone. But really, it was a lifeline for these to sisters to stay in touch. To have each other close. When we left that day IT WAS A SAD DAY. Alana and I cried a little every day missing Katelyn. But Alana knew, Katelyn was just a phone call (text) away. And THAT made it all bearable.

Next week we move Alana to Auburn. I can’t think about it yet. But I’ll say this: I’m won’t be going crazy, I’ll be Going Gentry!

hummingbird

Leave a comment