Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days.

Psalms 90:14

I am a morning person. But not before 7:00 am. 🙂
The Fall of 2015 Race and I became empty nesters. After having a child (or four!) living at home with us for over 30 years we had reached this new season of life. Our adjustment period lasted… oh, a day or two and then we were forward bound!

This is when we began the home renovation on our old ranch-style home in Loxley, AL. This is also when I realized we did not talk too much. Race would get up at 5:00 am, run or walk, get ready for work img_0530-1and leave. I would get up around 7:00 am and start work on the house. At the end of the day when Race would return home, having used up ALL his words on the job, he would have nothing much to add to our evening conversations. I, on the other hand, had PLENTY of words left to use, but a tired, hard-to-focus listener on my hands.

We talked about this… and we (I) made a life decision. I would, ahem, get up at 5:00 am and walk with my husband. Totally out of character, I know. This was in January 2016. And even though we live only 25 miles from the beach in south Alabama, I will tell you, it can get pretty cold down here!

I would go to bed at night and pray for freezing cold. (So we couldn’t walk.) I would pray for rain. (So we couldn’t walk.) I will be honest, the first few month were a challenge and I was not always the best company. But by then I realized Race actually had a lot to say… about the kids, the house, work, God, prayer, life. He loves to walk early in the morning. And he also loves to talk early in the morning! Who knew?

We have a great time. Each morning we walk. We talk. We chat as he fixes his lunch. We chat as we check out Facebook, the weather channel, things around the house. Then I see him off to work.

Getting up at 5:00 am has totally changed our everyday life. Best decision ever.

We’re good. And we’re Going Gentry!

…but I STILL pray for rain sometimes!

 

Check out my ETSY store to see more of these bandana bibs, quilts and much more! goinggentry.etsy.com

Instagram @goingingentry

Leave a comment